Obstacles!

rock

Progress on my kitchen has yet again come to a screeching halt. It turns out that my dad made the drain for my sink a little too high before enclosing it in drywall, so we’ll have to cut out the drywall, fix the drain and then patch up the drywall before we can even think about getting any kitchen cabinets in there.

When the delivery guy brought my cabinets, he remarked that I had a great little house. I asked him if he ever ordered cabinets from Home Depot and he said “Nah, I’d never pay those prices for cabinets. I live in Mexico. We did my grandma’s kitchen for $450 with custom made cabinets.”

“Don’t worry, this will all be done by Christmas,” he assured me. In light of the fact that Christmas is about three months from now, I wondered if he was being kind and optimistic or a smart-ass. He seemed like a nice guy, so I’ll give him kind and optimistic.

I now have an entire roomful of cabinets in my dining room. Also, to make matters worse, my dad is having oral surgery done this week and I want him to fully recover before coming back to this project. It looks like it will be another couple of weeks of takeout for me.

IMG_0144

3 responses to “Obstacles!

  1. These things always take longer than you think they will. I guess that’s part of why they’re so satisfying once they’re finished. You have your dad to install the cabinets, which is great because he doesn’t cost as much as hired labor. But you may have to pay for him in other ways!

    I like your wall color.

  2. hang in there. it will be done eventually and when it is you’ll see that it was all worth it. lizet and i have been sleeping in our kitchen while the floors got put in. we’ll come visit soon.

  3. Sleeping in your kitchen? Wow! That makes it convenient to grab a coffee first thing in the morning.

Leave a Reply

