Daily Archives: April 18, 2010

1960s London Fashion

I recently watched the Carey Mulligan movie An Education.  I’m usually so out of the loop when it comes to watching movies in the theatre (that’s what Netflix is for), so I end up watching movies about a year after they’re released.

I loved the dark story behind An Education .  Carey Mulligan did a fantastic job and really earned that Oscar nomination portraying a 16 year old London school girl who nearly squanders her future to pursue the empty promises of an exceedingly charming con-man beautifully portrayed by Peter Sarsgaard.

Shot mostly in London interiors with a brief interlude in Paris, the mood and atmosphere of 1960s London is almost singlehandly evoked by the costumes and props.  I love the costumes in this film.  They capture the fashion of my favorite era.